Relaxation space

Staying sober and resisting the urge to drink has been made easier for me by having space to relax and switch off the voice in my head.  For me that space exists when I run, when I soak in the bath and when I meditate.  The long baths at first were every other night but as time has gone on this has become my way of switching between the working day and evening time.  Whereas previously that transition would have been marked by a drink now it is marked by a soak and by the time I get out the crave to pick up a drink has passed.  I’m the cleanest I have ever been in my life!!

As for meditation this is something I began 3 years ago in the search for quiet in my head and has got easier as time has gone on.  In the last 3 weeks I have been doing the Oprah and Deepak Desire and Destiny 21 day meditation experience which is free and has been absolutely brilliant.  If you have never meditated before and are looking for an introduction this is one of the best series I have ever done and can be found here:

https://chopracentermeditation.com/

This relaxation space has at times saved my sanity in the last 10 weeks and is something I strongly recommend and would encourage if you are starting a sober journey.  Day 72.

Leave a Reply

